Bacon Explosion and The Peak District

My birthday was Wednesday of this past week.  When Tara asked me what I wanted to do for my birthday, I wasn’t immediately sure.  I didn’t really want to go out and party on a Wednesday because well, it’s Wednesday.  I didn’t want to go out to eat because I haven’t found any restaurants that I am really crazy about yet.  So as I went through the process of elimination on what I did not want to do, the answer became crystal clear: make a bacon explosion.  There are varying schools of thought on how exactly one should make a bacon explosion.  Some use a mixture of pork sausage and beef.  Some use BBQ sauce inside.  Some use a smoker as a means of cooking.  The common theme here is that you have bacon on the outside, bacon on the inside, and a flavorful meat filling also on the inside.  We used what was available at Costo, which was British bacon, ground lamb, and some homemade bbq sauce.